Getting To Know You

Share this article

Getting to Know Alli Sinclair

This week we get to know Alli Sinclair, tour guide turned author.

This week we get to know Alli Sinclair, tour guide turned author.

1. How long have you been in the industry, what and where was your first job?

I worked in the travel industry for twelve years but now write fiction full time. My very first job was receptionist at Peregrine Adventures. After six weeks I moved into their marketing department and my career in travel took off from there.

2. What’s your most amazing travel experience (one of them anyway)!

Only one?! My most memorable would have been standing on the summit of Mera Peak (6476 metres) in Nepal, gazing across the mountains and valleys framed by bright blue sky and Mount Everest towering above.

3. What’s the weirdest job you’ve ever done?

My job as a mountain climbing guide wasn’t weird but it was definitely was unusual. I worked two summers on Aconcagua (at 6962 metres it’s the highest mountain in the Americas) in Argentina and it was a big adjustment from working in an office!

4. First ever country you travelled to? What was your experience like?

I travelled to Bali and quickly learnt that even though resorts were nice, I needed to get out and explore the island. I visited schools, small villages, snorkelled on remote beaches and was invited to religious ceremonies. The friendliness of the people and their fascinating culture made me realise there was a whole world out there that needed exploring and I haven’t stopped doing so since!

5. Wishlist of places yet to visit?

Antarctica is number one on the list. I got close when I was in Ushuaia in southern Argentina but not close enough. Ahhhh …. One day I’ll get my chance.

I’d also like to spend six months living in a small village in France, Italy or Spain as well as visit all the weird and wonderful festivals around the world (Night of the Radishes and La Tomatina festivals, anyone?).