Getting To Know You

Share this article

Getting to Know Angie Vaux from TripAdvisor

This week we get to know Angie Vaux, Commercial Director, APAC at TripAdvisor for Business. 

This week we get to know Angie Vaux, Commercial Director, APAC at TripAdvisor for Business. 

1. How long have you been in the industry, what and where was your first job?

I’ve been working in the travel industry for just three months – I’ve always had a passion for travel and I love my new role at TripAdvisor! I started my career in the IT industry 15 years ago, as a marketing executive at Morse in London. 

2. What’s your most amazing travel experience (one of them anyway)!

I’ve been so fortunate to have travelled to some amazing places, but one that stands-out was in Kenya, where I went on Safari to the Maasai Mara. Seeing the wildlife in their natural habitat (yes, I saw the big five!) was spectacular, and something I will never forget.

3. What’s the weirdest job you’ve ever done?

The weirdest job I’ve ever done was when I was younger – I was a strawberry picker in Staffordshire, England. It was a holiday job I had when I was 15 years old. One of the funniest memories I have is seeing my Dad and friends fired from the job after having a massive strawberry fight. After a long-day, I’d come home dreaming of giant strawberries!

4. First ever country you travelled to? What was your experience like?

When I was 12, I went on an exchange to Germany thanks to a pen-pal program I was involved in. I travelled alone and got to really understand the culture – I wasn’t allowed to speak English for the duration of the trip. It was an amazing experience, and German is one of the languages I’m still fluent in today.

5. Wishlist of places yet to visit?

There are many on my wishlist, but if I had to narrow it down, I’d love to see the Taj Mahal in India, walk Machu Pichu in Peru, and travel through South America – it’s the only continent I haven’t had the opportunity to visit.