Getting To Know You

Share this article

Getting to know Jennifer Gaskin from Excite Holidays

This week we get to know Jennifer Gaskin, PR and Communications Manager from Excite Holidays.

This week we get to know Jennifer Gaskin, PR and Communications Manager from Excite Holidays.

1. How long have you been in the industry, what and where was your first job?

I have been working in travel for around eight years. My first job in the industry was as a features writer for a travel magazine in the UK.

2. What’s your most amazing travel experience (one of them anyway)?

I’ve had so many – it’s hard to choose! The one that stands out the most is probably a press trip to Kenya I was invited to attend by Magical Kenya. We were flown to a remote area on the tiny plane and stayed at an incredible lodge. We each had our own private lodge and mine had floor to ceiling windows and looked out onto a watering hole. In the mornings I woke up to see elephants, giraffes, rhinos and many other animals drinking there – that’s something I’ll never forget.

3. What’s the weirdest job you’ve ever done?

I haven’t really had a weird job, but probably the weirdest thing I’ve had to do for a job was go ghost hunting in Edinburgh Castle. That was pretty spooky!

4. What’s the first ever country you travelled to? What was your experience like?

The first country I travelled to was Italy, I was only three so can’t remember too much. There are lots of pictures of me with ice cream all over my face though – so I think I had a good time!

5. What’s your wishlist of places yet to visit?

Sri Lanka, Namibia, Mozambique, Montenegro, Panama…

6. Who was your biggest mentor/influence growing up?

My parents – they always encouraged me to find out as much as possible about the world.

7. How has working in travel changed you?

It’s made me want to travel to even more places!

8. What’s your biggest life achievement to date?