Getting To Know You

Share this article

Getting to know Stuart Allison from Princess Cruises

Princess Cruises' Stuart Allison reveals how he went from baggage handler to vice president of the cruise line's Australia and NZ operations. Plus why wants to visit Alaska, soon.

Princess Cruises’ Stuart Allison reveals how he went from baggage handler to vice president of the cruise line’s Australia and NZ operations. Plus why wants to visit Alaska, soon.

1. How long have you been in the industry, what and where was your first job?

My career has literally been a case of working from the wharf up. Back in the late 1990s I had summer jobs during university as a baggage handler at the Dover cruise terminal and a call centre operator for P&O car ferries. After I graduated I joined what was P&O/Princess in London as a Yield Analyst.

What’s your most amazing travel experience (one of them anyway)? 

Having worked in the cruise industry for 16 years, I’ve been fortunate enough to enjoy many amazing experiences. Sailing into Venice, sailing through the fjord to Kotor in Montenegro, crossing the Atlantic on Queen Mary 2, the maiden call to Ouvea in the Loyalty Islands on Pacific Princess, Queen Charlotte Sound in New Zealand. Too many to pick out just one… But crossing the English Channel and sighting the white cliffs of Dover is always a special moment.

What’s the weirdest job you’ve ever had?

Working as a baggage handler. My first time on a ship was below deck, having arrived at 5am to help off-load baggage, before portering guests to their transfers, many of whom were Americans and generous tippers!!

What’s the first ever country you travelled to? What was your experience like?