Getting To Know You

Share this article

#travelforlife: Meet Mark Sheehan from The America First Campaign

Say hello to the inspiring people in the industry who’ve chosen ‘travel for life’ as their career. They are ultra passionate, much-loved and inspire others by going above & beyond in their roles.

Say hello to the inspiring people in the industry who’ve chosen ‘travel for life’ as their career. They are ultra passionate, much-loved and inspire others by going above & beyond in their roles.

This week, we caught up with Mark Sheehan from The America First Campaign whose passion for the USA is as contagious as a smile.

Read on for the full chat Mark Sheehan:

What is your role in the industry & what does your day normally look like?

Karryon_Mark_Sheehan_mark_612x350

Unfortunately, I don’t hang out with Qantas’ Alan Joyce all day.

I’ve worn a baker’s dozen hats during my tenure in travel, however, the flag I’ve been flying faithfully for over 40 years is AMERICAN. I’m a waking sandwich-board for the USA as a destination.

What is happening at your organisation that’s important for the industry to know?

Karryon_Mark_Sheehan_The-wheel-america-training_612x350

We co-founded The America First Campaign after the horrors of September 11, when travel and tourism to the USA was a flat-liner, and totally devastated.

This not-for-profit, (non-political!) effort collectively ‘certified’ and re-engaged over 8,000 travel professionals in nine countries, to kick-start-return travel to America.

Proudly, Australia was, the very first nation to recover, and exceed all previous entry and duration statistics.

What lesson have you learnt recently that you are now implementing?

karryon-you-are-going-to-learn-today-gif

Make an impact in your own ‘backyard’ professionally and personally.