Industry HQ

Share this article

Agent Insights: Peter Fiske, Clayfield Travel

This week on Agent Insights we speak with Peter from Clayfield Travel – a veteran of the travel industry with over 35 years of experience. Read his tips, tricks and advice on truly making it as a travel agent.

This week on Agent Insights we speak with Peter from Clayfield Travel – a veteran of the travel industry with over 35 years of experience. Read his tips, tricks and advice on truly making it as a travel agent.

They don’t come much more experienced than this week’s guest on Agent Insights.

Meet Peter Fiske from Clayfield Travel in Queensland.

This is a guy that lives and breathes travel, and he sure is great at what he does. (He even recently won $10k as part of the TTC $1M cash giveaway.)

peter

Peter receiving his BIG novelty cheque.

With further ado, let’s dive straight into it…

So Peter, who do you work for and what do you do?

I’m a Partner and the Manager of Clayfield Travel Professionals and have been since we opened in Clayfield Qld in 1990.

I have been in travel for 35 years and started out as a Tour Leader for TrekAmerica in the USA – best job in the world and where I met my wife Kerry who is a Partner and Senior Consultant here as well.

We are now training our daughter Jessica as a consultant.

What do you think makes you stand out from the pack?

I think by being a good listener, asking the right questions and not looking for the $$$ signs, your clients will see your sincerity.

First and foremost you have to establish trust with your clients; if you don’t have that, you won’t get the business – pure and simple.

Tell me about your worst customer – EVER.

In 25 plus years in business, I think it would have to be the guy with the worst case of halitosis (bad breath) and flatulence I have ever encountered!