Which Australian Borders Are Open And To Whom? Your Essential Guide

In what is an ever-evolving, frustrating time of state border reopenings and travel health restrictions, it's a challenge to stay on top of the facts. Here's our rolling guide to the Australian updates you need to know.

In what is an ever-evolving, frustrating time of state border reopenings and travel health restrictions, it’s a challenge to stay on top of the facts. Here’s our rolling guide to the Australian updates you need to know.

We all want to get travelling again as safely as possible and be able to share factual information to plan and book travel confidently.

So to help, we’ve created a rolling update on what’s happening – where and when in Australia to help everyone get back out there across this great land.

Queensland (QLD)

Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
  • As of July 10, QLD’s borders are open to other state and territory residents except for Victorian residents and residents of Greater Sydney who are not allowed to enter the state at all – even to self-quarantine.
  • Anyone who has been in Greater Sydney in the past 14 days will be denied entry into Queensland or forced to undergo 14-day hotel quarantine at their own expense.
  • Road travellers arriving from NSW, NT, TAS and the ACT will only be allowed into the sunshine state after filling out a ‘Queensland Border Declaration Pass‘. You’ll also need a form of identification with your residential address on it.
  • The same rules apply at airports where passengers will be refused entry to QLD and sent back home if they attempt to arrive in the state without meeting the requested criteria.
  • If you make any false claims on the declaration pass, you’ll have to pay a $4,004 fine or a court-imposed penalty of $13,345.
  • Any Queenslanders returning from Victoria will be forced to quarantine at their own expense.
  • Find out more: www.covid19.qld.gov.au

Tasmania (TAS)

  • Currently, Tasmania has strict temporary closure of its border for all non-Tasmanian residents.
  • As of 7 August, safe-travel-bubble agreements will begin with South Australia, the Northern Territory and Western Australia.
  • Entrants from NT, SA and WA will need to fill out their information on the Good to Go App in terms of where they have been in the past 14 days. There will be fines of up to $16,800 or up to 6 months jail for those who provide incorrect information.
  • As of 7 August, an announcement will be made on possible timeframes and dates to relax restrictions with QLD, NSW and the ACT, based on public health advice and the situation in those states and territories. TAS will not open the border to them before the 14th of August.
  • As of July 9, Victorians were banned from entering Tasmania without an exemption.
  • Non-essential travellers can still enter TAS but are be required to quarantine at a government-managed accommodation facility for 14 days at your own expense.
  • Specific conditions apply to residents of King Island, Flinders Island and the Furneaux Group of Islands – see Coming to Tasmania for more information.
  • Find out more: www.coronavirus.tas.gov.au

The Northern Territory (NT)

  • As of July 17, The Northern Territory border reopened to all other state and territory residents except Victoria and Sydney hotspot residents.
  • Residents from Sydney and several NSW coronavirus hotspots around Sydney will not be allowed into the NT. Any Sydney residents entering will be forced into strict mandatory supervised quarantine at the Howard Springs facility at a personal cost of $2,500 per person.
  • Anyone arriving in the NT must complete a Border Entry Form. Do this online up to 72 hours before entering the NT.
  • New arrivals will be tested for COVID-19 within their first 72 hours of self-isolation and tested again in the final 72 hours.
  • All international arrivals must complete 14 days of mandatory self-quarantine at a place directed by the NT Government. You are required to cover the expense of your own quarantine fee.
  • Find out more: www.coronavirus.nt.gov.au

South Australia (SA)

  • As of Wednesday 29 July, only essential travellers will be able to enter SA from Victoria. South Australians will no longer be able to return to SA from Victoria.
  • As of July 20, South Australia will reopen its borders to all state and territory residents except Victoria, New South Wales and the ACT.
  • A pre-approval process is now in place for travellers wishing to enter South Australia. Aim to complete the Cross Border Travel Registration at least three days before you leave, regardless of where your travel begins.
  • NSW and ACT residents arriving can enter SA as long as they quarantine on arrival for 14 days.
  • All SA residents travelling from Victoria will be required to undertake a COVID-19 test within 24 hours of their arrival and be forced to wear a face mask.
  • Travellers who arrive at checkpoints will be provided with face masks as well as pre-signed forms for testing, allowing them to go directly to a COVID-19 clinic.
  • As of 18 July, quarantine fees will apply for Australian citizens and residents arriving in South Australia from overseas.
  • Fees as follows: One Adult: $3,000, Additional adults: $1,000 each, Additional children: $500 each, Children under 3: No additional cost.
  • Find out more: www.covid-19.sa.gov.au

Victoria (VIC)

  • VIC’s borders are open, though travel to the state is not advised.
  • As of July 9, Melbourne and Mitchell Shire is in a stage three lockdown for the next six weeks with enforced restrictions in place.
  • Find out more: www.vic.gov.au/coronavirus

Western Australia (WA)

  • The WA Government has announced the strict temporary closure of the WA borders for all non-WA residents.
  • The WA Government has announced they will not be reopening their borders until at least Aug 8, 2020.
  • No one will be allowed into WA if they have been in, or have transited through, Victoria or NSW in the previous 14 days unless they meet new exemption requirements.
  • As of Jun 5, The Kimberley region reopened to the rest of Western Australia, the biosecurity zones in parts of the Shire of East Pilbara however access to remote Aboriginal communities will remain restricted under the State Government’s Emergency Management Act.
  • Find out more: www.wa.gov.au

New South Wales (NSW)

  • As of July 8, New South Wales borders are open except to Victorian residents.
  • As of June 1, New South Wales residents were able to travel freely and holiday within the state, utilising all methods of transport including flights.
  • There are no other closures or restrictions on NSW’s borders.
  • Find out more: www.dpi.nsw.gov.au

Australian Capital Territory (ACT)

Australian Parliament House, Canberra ACT
Australian Parliament House, Canberra ACT
  • As of July 8, the ACT border is closed to travellers from Victoria unless those travellers have an exemption to enter.
  • ACT residents must return to their homes for a 14-day quarantine if they are granted an exemption to travel from Victoria.
  • Both adults and children are required to notify ACT authorities to get an exemption before travelling.
  • There are no other closures or restrictions on ACT’s borders.
  • Find out more:www.covid19.act.gov.au/help-and-advice/travellers

Agents: Ready to become an Aussie Specialist?

Now is the perfect time to skill up, thanks to Tourism Australia’s awesome new Aussie Specialist Program.

Tourism Australia has launched a local version of its award-winning international Aussie Specialist Program, providing a free online training resource for travel agents in Australia.

Find out more here.