Which Australian Borders Are Open And To Whom? Your Essential Guide

We are so close to seeing all state and territory borders reopen again, but there's still some stuff you need to know before you travel. So, to help, we've created a 'politics-free' guide with all the info, to get you travelling once more.

We are so close to seeing all state and territory borders reopen again, but there’s still some stuff you need to know before you travel. So, to help, we’ve created a ‘politics-free’ guide with all the info, to get you travelling once more.

We are almost there with border reopenings and cannot wait for everyone to start travelling within Australia again.

To ensure this happens as safely as possible, we’re here with all the information you need to plan and book travel confidently, so you can explore our great land, and enjoy an epic Summer Down Under.

Read on the for the full detail and useful links.

Queensland (QLD)

Lady Elliott Island here we come…
  • As of December 1, the QLD border will reopen to residents of VIC and Greater SYD.
  • Adelaide still remains a hotspot with new arrivals facing hotel quarantine. The State Government will review Adelaide’s hotspot listing at the end of the month.
  • Only people who have been in a COVID-19 hotspot or overseas within the previous 14 days will be required to complete a border declaration pass to enter Queensland.
  • Find out more: www.covid19.qld.gov.au

Western Australia (WA)

  • WA is open to residents of TAS, QLD, ACT and NT
  • Travellers visiting from NSW and VIC travellers are still required to quarantine for 14-days. An update regarding NSW and VIC is expected soon.
  • Anyone who has been to South Australia in the past 14 days will not be allowed into WA unless they meet new exemption requirements.
  • Exempt travellers must self-quarantine for 14 days, and will be subject to a COVID-19 test within 48 hours of arrival and on day 11 of quarantine. They must wear a mask until arriving at quarantine premises.
  • All travellers will have to fill out a G2G pass registration and scan it on arrival.
  • Find out more: www.wa.gov.au

South Australia (SA)

  • Travel into South Australia is unrestricted for people travelling from other Australian states and territories, apart from Victoria.
  • As of December 1, The VIC border will be open. Travellers from Victoria will not be required to undertake 14 days of quarantine.
  • Anyone planning travel to SA must complete a Cross Border Travel Registration.
  • Find out more: www.covid-19.sa.gov.au

The Northern Territory (NT)

  • Melbourne is the only region considered a hotspot by the NT Government. You can travel through Melbourne, provided you literally do not leave your vehicle (even for petrol) or leave the airport (if travelling by plane).
  • If travelling to or from an airport within a declared hotspot, point 4 from the ‘Directions for COVID-19 Hotspots’ below provides advice.
  • This will be at your own cost. The cost per person for supervised quarantine is $2500.
  • Everyone travelling to the NT has to fill out a border entry form, but you will only have to quarantine if you have spent time in a COVID-19 hotspot.
  • Find out more: www.coronavirus.nt.gov.au

Tasmania (TAS)

  • Tasmania’s border is now open to New South Wales, Queensland, Western Australia, the Northern Territory and ACT residents as well as New Zealand.
  • As of November 16, SA Travellers arriving in Tasmania should quarantine at either their residence or accommodation upon arrival until further notice.
  • As of November 27, Tasmania will reopen its border to VIC residents.
  • Entrants will need to fill out their information on the Good to Go App in terms of where they have been in the past 14 days.
  • Travellers heading for Tasmania should register their travel and contact details via the Tas e-Travel system.
  • Find out more: www.coronavirus.tas.gov.au

Victoria (VIC)


New South Wales (NSW)

  • New South Wales is open to all, including Victoria.
  • No permit is required for travellers from other states entering NSW, except for those coming from South Australia. They will require a NSW entry travel declaration form.
  • Find out more: www.dpi.nsw.gov.au

Australian Capital Territory (ACT)

Australian Parliament House, Canberra ACT
Australian Parliament House, Canberra ACT
  • The ACT border is open to all states and territories.
  • However, anyone trying to enter the ACT from South Australia will need to complete an online declaration 24 hours before entering the territory, presenting the declaration at the border and carrying it with them at all times.
  • Find out more: www.covid19.act.gov.au/help-and-advice/travellers