Montevideo, here we come! Qantas has just added another expansion to its codeshare arrangement with LATAM to include South America’s latest up & coming country, Uruguay.

¡Que Bueno! Uruguay’s capital of Montevideo is just one of five cities included in Qantas and LATAM’s expanded relationship, which will help connect Aussies to more areas of South America (and earn those muy preciosa Frequent Flyer Points) from Santiago in Chile.

Other cities included in the arrangement are Belo Horizonte (CNF), Curitiba (CWB), and Florianopolis (FLN) in Brazil (via Sao Paulo).


Image: hernansuarez28/Pixabay

Officially kicking off from 1 August 2019, flyers will be able to fly to each of the destinations listed above plus Montevideo (MVD) via Santiago on a single ticket, while also earn and redeem Qantas Points and Status Credits.

From 15 October 2019, Qantas and LATAM will also offer the same benefits on flights between Santiago and Brasilia (BSB).


Image: Gerardom/Pixabay

With the new destinations and a codeshare expansion in November last year, Qantas now has code on LATAM-operated services to six countries and 14 destinations in South America. Others include Bogota (BOG) in Colombia, Lima (LIM) in Peru, Guayaquil (GYE) in Ecuador as well as Punta Arenas (PUG) in Chile.

Qantas currently operates four direct return flights per week between Santiago and Sydney, and codeshares with LATAM on seven return flights per week. The airline also codeshares on LATAM’s three times per week direct flight between Santiago and Melbourne.

Click here to check out flight prices.


Is Uruguay on your bucket list?