Time For Tourism: Spain Will Open Its Borders On June 21

The world is beginning to move again, and this time, it's Spain announcing that it'll be opening its borders to members of Europe's Schengen Zone this weekend.

The world is beginning to move again, and this time, it’s Spain announcing that it’ll be opening its borders to members of Europe’s Schengen Zone this weekend.

Spain’s Prime Minister, Pedro Sanchez, announced that the country will be opening its borders to members of Europe’s Schengen Zone and the UK this weekend, 21 June 2020.

The Schengen Zone includes Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

The announcement was made on a conference call with regional leaders and reported in the Spanish newspaper El Pais.

Travellers from the rest of the world will be allowed into Spain from July 1, if there is a reciprocal travel agreement. 

The exception to the border opening date will be Portugal. Portuguese borders will remain closed until July 1, at the request of the Portuguese government.

Travelers arriving in Spain will no longer be required to stay in quarantine for two weeks.

So, what’s the lastest?


Spain will allow no foreign tourists until June 21, with exceptions on some Spanish islands, such as the Balearics, which are open to German tourists from today.

In France, a number of coronavirus restrictions are being lifted. French President Emmanuel Macron has announced that from today, cafes and restaurants can open across the country, and travel to other European countries will be allowed.

Greece is currently mandating quarantines for those arriving from a string of airports in eight EU countries.

READ: Sunnier Days: Greece Is Reopening To Tourists For The Summer

Denmark will allow tourists from Iceland, Germany, and Norway, as they are currently considered ‘safe’ countries.

READ: A Glimpse Of Travel Normality: Italy Is Reopening Borders From 3rd June

READ: The UK Begins Controversial 14-Day Self-Quarantine Rules For Arrivals

READ: Aus To Israel By December? There’s A Quarantine-Free Travel Deal On The Table

Elsewhere, the right to move freely will depend on where you live and where you are going.

Please be aware that there are still overseas travel bans imposed by the Australian Government, so keep an eye on Smartraveller to stay in the loop.